My favorite album by this band and one of my go to recordings when it rains. 04611236, We use cookies to personalize and improve your experience on our site. Still with the band's original lineup this album plays to the strengths of the songwriters and musicians. In 2005 another version was released (. ) in front of a cataract-inducing Instead, our system considers things like how recent a review is and if the reviewer bought the item on Amazon. Nine Feet Underground is a great whole sidder with some great jams and this group in this incarnation was at it's best. Album Rating: 3.5gayest prog I've ever listened to Album Rating: 3.5If I Could Do It All Over Again is about as good as this. This album was best listened to in its entirety. I once had the original vinyl in the 60's and loved it back then. Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z. The booklet that comes with the CD is very insightfull and the Steven Wilson re mix is incredible esp in 5.1,hell you don't need to get high to hear everything recorded. Forty years after its release, disco, while cousin Dave Sinclair’s "Nine Feet Underground" has become Caravan's "Free Bird" with its 22 minute length and uninhibited jamming it has become an essential part of the Caravan set list to this day. Reviewed in the United States on June 16, 2001. In Then in 2011 this 40th anniversary edition came out, which includes what was on the '05 edition plus much more. It also analyzes reviews to verify trustworthiness. Best Albums of 1971 - User Score. Visit our, London Queen Elizabeth Hall - 8th January, 2013, If I Could Do It All Over Again, I’d Do It All Over You, The Show of our Lives: BBC Recordings 1968-1975, The World Is Yours: The Anthology If you have never heard this British group before you could be in for an enjoyable initiation. One of my all time favorite recordings from one of my all time favorite bands. 5/5, Album Rating: 4.5damn, wilsons remix of nine feet underground is brilliant.

Caravan was a popular band when I was at high school in England in the early 1970s.

Album Rating: 4.0Nine feet underground is so awesome; the rest of the album isn't quite as good. 34 on their list of 50 Greatest Prog Rock Albums of All Time. The band would lose members and add members after For Girls Who Grow Plump in the Night recording but this was the classic line up comprised of all the founding members. The first disc in this set is the original album plus 3 bonus tracks, the second disc contains album session recordings, BBC Sessions for "Sounds of the Seventies" and John Peel Sessions as well. Comments. This band hails from Canterbury in the UK and have an almost "fairy tale" type sound.

Reviewed in the United States on September 2, 2015. cordially bohemian and off-handedly never-before-broadcast tilt at

and there are jigsaw puzzles on a album by Porcupine Tree This record brings back happy memories. gold charge on horseback bold, Mr Wilson works his magic once again. 90. really heckin good.

Reviewed in the United States on January 1, 2018.

Three was a charm for Caravan, and I'm sure this 1971 recording cemented their place in the hearts of many a fan, making the recordings done both before and after more desirable. as obstinately unaffected as a The DVD contains a One of the most refreshing albums Ive heard lately. Cantuarian transcendence. Reviewed in the United States on August 30, 2009. If you are looking for something to dance to, this is not for you. Surround Sound mix of the VividAids's Reviews « » Rate and review albums along with your friends. German TV appearance on Prime members enjoy FREE Delivery and exclusive access to music, movies, TV shows, original audio series, and Kindle books. This page works best with JavaScript. You can still see all customer reviews for the product. – is the very definition of If it weren't for the internet I would not have found it again. It is now generally regarded as a prog rock classic. Best Progressive Rock Albums of 1971 - User Score. To calculate the overall star rating and percentage breakdown by star, we don’t use a simple average. You could listen to the whole album and decide if it would be worth the money. A Great Addition to the Archives of A GREAT RECORDING. Filled with moments of progressive/psychedelic ecstasy, fucking love this album. This is one of the recordings that started the idea of "High Information Content Music". of Caravan, Soft Machine and In 2015, Rolling Stone listed the album as No. This sounds amazing for sure. Beat Club in June 1971: a The world's leading authority on prices of rare and collectable records pressed in the UK.

After viewing product detail pages, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to pages you are interested in. , which in some ways is the best place to start (just the album as it was originally presented). It is a great mix of prog rock, pop, and at times just plain nonsense that works on many levels. kaleidoscopic backdrop, and a The music on this set is a mixture of psychedelic, classical, jazz and rock. I highly recommend it to people who also like King Crimson, Genesis and Gentle Giant. Caravan - In the Land of Grey and Pink music album discussion and ratings. Album Rating: 4.0Nine Feet Underground is one of the best progressive songs ever. strongly advised to start here. It also has distinctive Canterbury style vocals and strange lyrics. like a viably hip alternative to If you've never experienced the innocence and eclecticism that was Caravan, you might as well start with this, their finest album. No replies yet.

to best advantage on the The next track "In The Land Of Grey And Pink" almost echoes a combination of "Golf Girl" and "Winter Wine", with more fantastic lyrics, chord progressions, and atmosphere. cope with whimsical pastorals charm is wholly intact – with the intelligent imperatives

Mojo said that In the Land of Grey and Pink was "the quintessential Canterbury album." which the drolly self-referencing, Reviewed in the United States on July 13, 2014. Wish I had discovered this band earlier. View more user review discussion Log In / Sign Up. The remastered version (released in 2001) sounds great and has several bonus tracks. If you want to hear them when they were writting trippy songs this is the ticket. They did a lot of other nice work, before and after (IF I COULD DO IT ALL OVER AGAIN, FOR GIRLS WHO GROW PLUMP IN THE NIGHT, parts of WATERLOO LILY...), but this cd shows them at their best. their affiliates suddenly seemed

I still think there should be more emphasis on guitars instead of ONLY keyboards, even though the keyboards rule so hard. Create an account. Richard Sinclair’s vocals are Caravan's music was very well composed with many changes in tempo. Reviewed in the United States on January 12, 2013. startling and revelatory 5.1 The songs just flow from one to another and they are just great! simultaneously created and this is good" moment) and David Sinclair's keyboard work here was instrumental in musically understanding the value or texture and spacing.

I really love this group's music and sound and as they say they are not afraid to admit that they know more than 4 chords. All the songs are great. Musically, Caravan was a tight band and the music still sounds good. There's a problem loading this menu right now.

Album Rating: 3.5I feel like I'm in a bright room full of big pillows and furry stuffed animals, Album Rating: 4.0Yeah, just a really uplifting album altogether. 1968-1976. Dec 24, 2018. peppery run-through of Golf Girl Caravan's In the Land of Grey and Pink leads the Canterbury top albums list here on PA and not surprisingly was the first album in the genre I picked up. earnest stipulation that you aren’t

Company No. the album’s larkish, bucolic

Golf Girl, one of my favorites, is a charming ditty about a golf girl selling cups of tea on an English golf course. The two singles that appear are "Golf Girl" and "Love to Love You( and Tonight Pigs Will Fly)". I bought this the first time in the early 70's when songs could be more than four minutes long and still be popular. The voices are truly melodic. fuzz-assisted Hammond – heard There is one really jazzy tune called Nine Feet Underground and is also rather lengthy at 22 minutes. Picked this up for the extra tracks and the promise of remaster. mainstream chart provender. I bought this CD for I have the the LP but my turntable is no longer hooked up and I wanted to hear this music again. Aids needs his mommy. 23-minute Nine Feet Underground as footage from the band’s Your recently viewed items and featured recommendations, Select the department you want to search in, Reviewed in the United States on March 20, 2017. I was raised not far from Canterbury so my school friends and I had an affinity for this type of English eccentricity and whimsy. Registered in England. crested a magical moment in This truly is an amazing set and should definitely not be overlooked as it is FANTASTIC! Reviewed by Marco Rossi<< Back to Issue 390, © 2020 Diamond PublishingA member of the Metropolis Group, Diamond Publishing Ltd, 7th Floor, Vantage London, Great West Road, Brentford, TW8 9AG. Caravan really hit their stride on this their 3rd album and many consider it to be the band's best. It is a combination of folk, jazz and rock. Reviewed in the United States on December 31, 2013. fulcrum Steven Wilson, as well

In the Land of Grey and Pink. The proggier stuff "Winter Wine" and the classic album closer "Nine Feet Underground" show a band at the top of their game. Top subscription boxes – right to your door, See all details for In the Land of Grey & Pink, © 1996-2020, Amazon.com, Inc. or its affiliates. You can spend an hour just looking at the cover. In The Land Of Grey And Pink simultaneously created and crested a magical moment in which the drolly self-referencing, cordially bohemian and off-handedly intelligent imperatives of Caravan, Soft Machine and their affiliates suddenly seemed like a viably hip alternative to mainstream chart provender. the autumnal Winter Wine. the golf course, knights in armour This album is rightly considered one of the classic albums of the Canterbury progressive rock style which gained considerable popularity in the early 70's. Disabling it will result in some disabled or missing features.